I don’t think I’ve changed – Pioneers Single Release date 30/08/2019

Review and Interview

Ah! This is a well crafted indie pop tune!

A simple melody on a single guitar creates an understated intro to the vocal verse before the bass joins to add a harmonious richness and depth. Drums only come in half way through this verse, creating a slow but steady increase in momentum until we hit the chorus that arrives with a lead in that reminds me of Catfish and the Bottlemen.

With a lively, catchy guitar riff, and anthemic vocal running through the chorus, this new single from Pioneers is an instant hit on the ears.

I’m singing the chorus within a few listens – this is a song you want to put on repeat and drive your neighbours do-lally – though this is so catchy the neighbours will join in for sure!

Repetitive but cleverly written, “I don’t think I’ve changed” is sure to be a winner for both radio airplay and, knowing what a Pioneers crowd is like, I expect to see much dancing on shoulders to this one.

Do yourself a favour and give this a spin and then come down to The Wedgewood Rooms tonight, Friday 30/08, where you can see Pioneers play it live.

Pioneers, Edge of the Wedge, 09/05/2019


———–

QUOTE FROM BAND:

‘’The track reminisces on our teenage adolescence, whilst coming to terms with the inevitable change of growing up and time moving too fast. We have tried to show a more mature side with this new single, whilst acknowledging the jump from the security of youth to the vulnerability of adult life.”

Lead singer Sam Watts kindly answered a few questions for me.

Loving the new single  “I don’t think I’ve changed” – how did it come about? 

The writing process for the song started strictly on just me and an acoustic guitar. I wanted to write something slightly more personal. I challenge myself to wear my vulnerability on my sleeve and the songs reflects worries and changes that people encounter as they transition into being completely self dependant. I think that’s what makes the song so relatable.

Pioneers gigs are always well attended – you’ve sold out the 400 capacity Engine Rooms previously and I’ve been squished in the back of Joiners before at another of your sold out gigs – how did you develop such a loyal and fun fan base?

As most bands will tell you, it all starts with your friends and family. Once you nail selling a few tickets to them, they quickly tell their friend groups and it kind of grows like that. The dream is to one day play the O2 Guildhall and we won’t stop until we’ve got there!

Your debut single ‘Take Time’ was BBC Introducing’s track of the week….are you hoping for a repeat with this one?

The response to Take Time was unreal, we’d of course love a repeat of that! The best feeling in the world is hearing people sing your songs back to you 

Who are the current members of Pioneers and when and how did each of you join the band?

Pioneers is (me) Sam, Charlie Toby and Bailey. I knew the three guys individually throughout our school years. I knew we all shared similar interests with our music and things and decided to ask them to start a band. Two of the four have learnt their instruments as we go. The great thing is everyone is now really close which makes everything so much easier.

With festival season coming to an end, were there any artists you caught this year that particularly impressed you?

Myself and the drummer Charlie went to Glastonbury this year which was mad. We’re both big fans of bands like The Vaccines and Liam Gallagher, but for me personally watching slowthai there was an unforgettable experience. I’ve never seen someone perform like he does it was a crazy experience. 

What else are Pioneers working on at the moment, and what are your plans for the rest of this year and next?

We’re always working on our next releases! But more set in stone, we’ve just announced our debut UK tour. We’ll be stopping off in Glasgow, Manchester, London and Derby this October. We’re also gearing up to announce our biggest ever headline show… stay tuned for that one!

PIONEERS ARE:

Sam Watts – Rhythm Guitar, Vocals

Toby Gathercole – Lead Guitar

Charlie Flide – Drums

Bailey Sandom – Bass

Leave a comment